Sit Ups and New Year’s Resolutions

I don’t know about you guys, but I ate too much over the holidays. I really admire those people who hit the gym on January 2 and work out for four hours a day. Sadly, I’ll never be one of them. I do take care of my body, but I’m really not the sporty type. Right now I’m more like

December was a really nice month for me. I attended my Graduation ceremony, I binge-watched CW post-apocalyotic tv show  The 100 (it’s awesooooooooomeeee) (also, I’ve fallen into the Bellarke tunnel and I can’t get out of it), I read the books it’s based on, and I spent a week in Paris, a city I know very well and love very much:

20141216_143825

20141217_182106

Obviously I had to stop at Shakespeare & Co. 🙂

20141219_175543

20141217_171742

20141219_201954

????????

????????

And then, I spet a lovely Christmas and New Year’s Eve with my family and my closest friends.

2014 has been a very important year for me, I grew up a lot, I learned so many new things, I made pretty big decisions, the last but not the least being not moving to Edinburgh and going to London instead. It was my plan from the beginning, but then I changed it several times (to fit my family’s expectations, mostly) and only recently I had the guts  to say “you know what, fuck it, I’m going to live where I really want to”. I don’t want to take a MA in something I’m not really invested in, just to make my family happy. I don’t want to live in a city just because my family wants me to. I don’t want to apply for a job I’d hate just because my family thinks it could make me earn more money, or because it’s somehow more “respectable” than others (sadly, some of my relatives are, underneath the democratic-liberal appearance, classists). I know what I want to do in my life: I want to write. I want to be a published, successful author. That is my choice. In the meantime, I need a job that allows me to pay the rent and the bills and buy food, and that’s pretty much it. Whether I end up working in a restaurant, or a flowershop, or an office, I don’t care.

I admit I’m terrified to move to London. I have to find  a house, a job, fill out all that bureaucratic paperwork to open a bank account and get the NIN, and let’s not forget that the weather, the food and the people are definitely not like what I’m used to here in Italy. It’s scary. But you gotta start somewhere, right? And if I’m making a mistake, well, at least I, and no one else, will be the one who made the wrong choice. And I’ll learn from it. If I keep letting people choose for me, I will never really live my life. To quote Frank Zappa,

If you end up with a boring miserable life because you listened to your mom, your dad, your teacher, your priest, or some guy on television telling you how to do your shit, then you deserve it.

So yep, these are my New Year’s resolutions:

  • Move to London by the first week of February
  • Find a house, a job I don’t hate and get used to the weather
  • Finish the second draft of my novel (that btw became something entirely different in the meantime, and I’m very happy with the direction the story has taken*)
  • Dye my hair and buy a clip-in fringe (how cool is that?? All my hairstyles problems will finally be over)
  • Read as many books as I can and learn from them
  • Lose 5 kilos
  • Revise and edit my novel and start querying it and get offers from my dream agents (shush, a girl can dream)

Simple, uh? *shots herself*

Anyway, I’m very happy because yesterday my cousin gave me his Christmas present….he got me a Kindle and I want to cry! (it’s a happy cry)

I was one of those people who LOATHED the idea of reading on an electronic device. I love books, I love their shape, their weight, the soft rustling sound the pages make when you turn them, their smell.

Feels good, right?

BUT since I graduated in July, I had so much more time to read than before, and I can’t afford to spend 20-25 euros a book if I buy, like, six books per month. Also, I don’t want to wait a week or more to get them, I’m a very eager and impatient reader. That’s what I’ll do: I can get the Kindle copy for much less on Amazon, I can read it right away, and if I really fall in love with the story I’ll buy the paperback and put it in my library (I have five libraries at home, the situation is getting out of hand). So yay, thanks cousin Gabriel!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you all the best for the New Year! Happy 2015!

*[Long story short: Black Hood is a NA sci-fi novel about artificially created humans for the purpose of exploitation and set in a futuristic England. I don’t know, think Ishiguro’s “Never Let Me Go” with a Robin Hood vibe (because the main character, Noumi, is a thief who steals from the rich to help the poor and free other Echoes – artificial humans like her -, and is forced to run back to her hometown, the now fortified city of Nottingham). How does that sound?]

Informazioni su Charlie_ jh134

"You're a raccoon that acts like a wolf and wants to challenge dragons." I guess what my best friend means is that I'm a bit clumsier than I like to think. I'm pretty sure Seth Cohen is my spirit animal.
Questa voce è stata pubblicata in amwriting, books, cinder, kindle, travelling, writing e contrassegnata con , , , , , , , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

2 risposte a Sit Ups and New Year’s Resolutions

  1. maqualeidea ha detto:

    Good luck, girl, I wish you all the best (and not only because I’ll probably follow your path).

    Liked by 1 persona

    • Charlie_ jh134 ha detto:

      Thank you! It’s not easy, but I’ve learned that great things happen when you step out of your comfort zone… so I wish you all the best too! (and I’m following you on Twitter btw, it doesn’t let me follow your blog because I don’t have a blogspot account!)

      Mi piace

Reply

