Intro: Welcome to the Compass Locket

I’ve always wanted to write. I think I started my first diary when I was six. I didn’t have much to talk about of course, so I ended up writing silly short stories, poems dedicated to my mom and my pets, a couple of lists of things I wanted to do before dying (yeah, I already was a drama queen back then), several love letters to my celebrity crushes (Angelina Jolie and Leo DiCaprio were on top of the list. They still are, to be honest). Growing up, the diaries became more serious, a safe place to pour my soul into. Good thing none of them where Tom Riddle’s, uh?

After surviving five years on a hellish island of high school, I packed my bags and moved from my small town in Sicily to the big, sparkling capital, Rome. And thank goodness I did. I probably wouldn’t be here if I had stayed where I was. I’m not ashamed (anymore) to admit I struggled several years with depression, but I was too proud to ask for help. I hit rock bottom, and at that point I had two choices in front of me. I picked the right one, and I’m still here. In the last couple of years things got better, and now I’m in a new, balanced, sunny place of mind. It’s not all beer and skittles obviously, but I feel good. I managed to change the way I see and face life, and I always look on the bright side and take things as they come. Having a positive attitude truly turned my life upside down.

“You have to do everything you can, you have to work your hardest, and if you do, you have a shot at a silver lining.”

I’m starting this blog because a) I need a new place where to write down my thoughts; b) I’m planning a career in print and online journalism, and I need to practice and improve my writing skills, especially since English is not my first language; c) I’m writing a freaking book, I definitely need to practice and improve my writing skills.

The ridiculous thing about me is that I’m chronically insecure and yet I have Fanny Brice/Rachel Berry’s level of ambition. Go figure.

As my best friend says, “You’re a raccoon that acts like a wolf and wants to challenge dragons.” I guess what he means is that I’m a bit clumsier than I like to think.

 

Joel Robison

Photo by Joel Robison http://joelrobisonphoto.wordpress.com/  Probably the best description of my life I’ve ever seen.

 

Informazioni su Charlie_ jh134

"You're a raccoon that acts like a wolf and wants to challenge dragons." I guess what my best friend means is that I'm a bit clumsier than I like to think. I'm pretty sure Seth Cohen is my spirit animal.
Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Personal, writing e contrassegnata con , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Reply

